top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDee Brissett

THINGS WORK OUT

Recently I watched a YouTube video where this influencer has been on the "come-up" for some time now and she's finally made it big. When I look back on how far she's come, it simply amazes me and I just start to wonder... I followed along with her journey from "I see you" - "doing things" - "doing big things." She shared in one of her most recent posts that her new affirmation is "things are always working out for me." And it's been on my mind for some time now.


Like always, when something sits with me for a bit I like to break it apart in pieces and apply it to my life. I'll start with the fact that I don't believe things always work out for me. If that were the case I'd have washboard abs and pizza whenever I wanted haha. But on a serious note, I really don't believe that things always work out for me. If things were to always work out for me, I believe I would be fully content with my life. However, I'm not. I'm at this awkward stage in my life where I'm more creative than I've ever been, more inspired to inspire others, and overall more driven for success than I've ever been. So how is it that things don't always work out for me?


The answer is simple. Others may not see or appreciate how hard I work towards my personal and professional goals so I start to believe in them more than I believe in me. Why, you might ask? In my mind, it isn't success unless they notice and appreciate my efforts. I can also admit to being part of that "others" group of people because I also sometimes don't see and appreciate how amazing I truly am. I know there's a lot of you out there like me and I want you to know, you are not alone.



Now, I try to focus on the fact that there is a different group of people who do believe in my work and stand behind my creativity. This group of people consists of some family, friends, followers, and general members of my online and offline community. BTW- huge shoutout to #comfygirlcurls for featuring me among many other Black Canadian Content Creators in her recent blog post (30 Black Canadian Content Creators to Follow)! Thank you Kaya!!! You guys should go check it out because WOW it is truly an amazing post with tons of #blackgirlmagic. Here's the link :


Now back to the blog...


When I reflect on how far I've come in the last five or ten years I am mind blown. I would have never thought I would do the things that I have but I did! It wasn't until then that I realized that "things always seem to work out for me". Through every career change, life change, and shortcomings that has happened in my life, I always seem to come out on top. I may start a new role not knowing for sure if I'm the right fit but I always leave my mark and make it known that I AM SOMEONE SPECIAL. I've been thrown some serious curve balls and somehow I always manage to bounce back. It's what I do. And when the road gets really tough, I am going to remind myself that I CAN DO IT and that THINGS ALWAYS WORK OUT FOR ME.


So moving forward, I'm going to hold on to the affirmation that "things always seem to work out for me" because they do. I'm going to be more intentional about betting on myself. I'm going to overcome any obstacle that's next in line and I'm going to come out of it better than I was before because I am. Will you?


If you enjoyed this post and want to see more, SUBSCRIBE & check out my YOUTUBE CHANNEL (DEE AND FAM- www.youtube.com/deeandfam ) to see what I'm up to between my blog posts. SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube channel if you haven't already. Don't forget to SHARE my posts & videos with everyone you know!


LOVE, DEE

23 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page