top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDee Brissett

STOP FOR MENTAL HEALTH

On most days I feel like I'm constantly on the go and don't have time to stop for anything. These days usually end up being either super productive or super overwhelming. Honestly, I never know which way it'll end up until the end. Have you ever had days like this?


As a busy mama, it's hard to accept that I simply can't do it all. I mean... I am a living superhero and no superhero ever needs to stop so why should I, right?! My superpower is definitely multitasking. I can literally accomplish multiple tasks from start to finish at any given time with ease. Here's an example: dinner prep, responding to emails, filming, planning content, caring for kids. These are just some of the things I do on a regular basis ALL AT THE SAME TIME!


Although this may seem very impressive, which it is, I don't think it's healthy to constantly be on the go. It's really important for my mental health to remember to take a moment to stop. Remember, stopping doesn't mean failure. Stopping simply means to just stop. You can do this daily, weekly, or as needed. As a result of not stopping, I can't turn my mind off at nights when it's time for my mind and body to rest. This then leads to lack of sleep which then leads to exhaustion which then leads to less productivity the next day or days to come. It creates this chain reaction of accomplishing bits of things but never the completion of any. And to be honest, I'm never usually "happy" during these times.


So here's a look at what happens when you choose to stop.

1. your mind gets a break

2. the break leads to thinking clearly

3. thinking clearly leads to better decisions

4. better decisions leads to more accomplishments

5. more accomplishments leads to better success

6. better success leads to better mental health

7. better mental health leads to a better YOU

8. a better YOU remembers to START

"You can't get anything done without starting first. Whatever wasn't done will be waiting for you when you are ready and when your mental health is ready."

If you're still unsure about how to stop, you can try some of these things:

1. getting fresh air

2. listening to music

3. removing yourself from all noise

4. breathing/meditation

5. stretching

6. reading


My preference for stopping is listening to music or getting fresh air. Considering the fact I am an avid multitasker, I usually end up doing both listening to music and getting fresh air at the same time. This always seems to work for me and I suggest you trying at least one of these things with hopes it will work for you as well. By the way, if you're curious about what music works best for me try listening to (Sunset Lover by Petit Biscuit). This song gives me all the feels and helps me to STOP.


So answer this... What will you do to stop? Comment below to let me know. Your mental health depends on it!


If you enjoyed this post and want to see more, SUBSCRIBE & check out my YOUTUBE CHANNEL (DEE AND FAM- www.youtube.com/deeandfam ) to see what I'm up to between my blog posts. SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube channel if you haven't already. Don't forget to SHARE my posts & videos with everyone you know!


LOVE,

DEE

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page