top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDee Brissett

BREAKING THROUGH FEAR

Hey guys! Welcome back to a long awaited blog post. Thank you so much for being here!


It's been a few months since I've sat down feeling inspired and willing to share my thoughts and feelings with you all. Last time on the blog I shared with you all my weight-loss goals and the journey I set forth to start. Since then, I have continued on my journey and am continuing to learn so much about my body and what I am capable of. Losing weight has been more about making a lifestyle change for me as opposed to simply manipulating the numbers on the scale. Failure of this is not an option for me.


That being said, let's talk about FEAR... Over the years, fear has become my worst enemy. I know what you guys are thinking, fear is usually everyone's worst enemy. But seriously, my fear of failure has over time silenced my desire to achieve greatness. Usually, to overcome obstacles, I like to call things/people out for what and who they truly are in order to move forward from it or them. So why is it so hard to face my fear of failure?


As I sat for months trying to figure out the best way to overcome such an obstacle, it finally hit me... Face your fear head on and just move forward! Recently, I read a children's book to my daughters. The book was about colours but the hidden message there was that each colour has an emotion. The emotion/colour that symbolized with me most was fear/black. How ironic, black happens to be one of my favourite colours to associate with and gives me the most comfort! The book went on to talk about how when you're afraid you may feel tiny and that if you don't have the courage to face your fears help will assist you in finding your way.




That's when I realized that if I want to overcome my fear of failure I need to do three simple things. First, I'll need to stop making myself seem so small in the face of fear. I must find a way to remember my values and my worth which is much bigger than any fear could ever be. Second, I need to be able to ask for help when needed. If I were to overcome the burden of doing everything myself and figuring everything out on my own maybe help would actually be available for me. As the old saying goes, you can't help someone who doesn't want to be helped. How often have you heard that saying?! Last but not least, I'll need to push forward and focus on not giving up when I do fail. After all, failure is inevitable. The only real way to overcome it is to never give up.


Here's the thing about emotions, you don't have to remain any given emotion for long. I learned once that we only feel each emotion for a few seconds of time. Holding on to that emotion for a longer period of time is something we control and are in charge of. So why would I allow myself to live in fear for so long? While I may not have a good answer for that question, I encourage you to ask yourself these questions. What is your greatest fear? Why do you allow yourself to live in fear? How do you plan to overcome it? Please feel free to leave in the comments below your answers. Don't be scared... You are not alone. I AM NOT ALONE! My plan to overcome my fear of failure is by facing it head on by standing strong, asking for help when needed, and simply getting back up to try again when failure knocks me down. I'm saying goodbye to the monster I allow to live within me.


If you enjoyed this post and want to see more, SUBSCRIBE & check out my YOUTUBE CHANNEL (DEE AND FAM- www.youtube.com/deeandfam ) to see what I'm up to between my blog posts. SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube channel if you haven't already. Don't forget to SHARE my posts & videos with everyone you know!


LOVE,

DEE

44 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page